Coi Leray | “Players” Review | #LocalMusicSomewhere #Boston

Coi Leray | “Players” Review | #LocalMusicSomewhere #Boston
Table of Contents

Who Is Coi Leray?

Coi Leray Collins is a rapper and singer, born in Boston, MA but raised in Hackensack, NJ. She’s known by her stage name Coi Leray. Her father is rapper and producer Benzino. He left Coi and her five brothers at a young age and they were raised by her mother. At only 14 years of age, she started making music and at 16 got a job in sales.

She released her first two songs “Bow Down” and “Rock Back” with her brother Taj, back in 2011. But both she and her brother stopped rapping shortly after that and went back to working other jobs. Finally, in 2018, Coi Leray quit her job, went back to rapping and released the single “G.A.N.” through Soundcloud. She then went on to release her breakout single, titled “Huddy” and her mixtape Everythingcoz, also in 2018.

Since then she’s signed a record deal, reached the 40 on the Billboard Hot 100, and has worked with some talented musicians, including Nicki Minaj, Ski Mask the Slump God, Jacquees, Fetty Wap, Pooh Shiesty, and Pressa. She’s starred in music videos and been on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.

She’s been nominated for Best Female Hip-Hop Artist and Best New Artist at the BET Awards 2021 and was included in the XXL Freshman Class of 2021. Her single “No More Parties” peaked at number 26 on the Billboard Hot 100 and was certified platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America. Her song “Big Purr (Prrdd)” peaked at 69 on the charts.

Leray has had a variety of inspirations throughout the years, including Missy Elliot, Avril Lavigne, Chief Keef, Lady Gaga, Slick Woods, Chris Brown, and Jazzelle Zanaughtti.

Coi Leray Music – “Players” Review

Coi Leray released her first album in 2018 and has continued to provide new music since. With hits like “No More Parties,” with Lil Durk, “Big Purr (Prrdd), which featured Pooh Shiesty, and “Blick Blick,” featuring Micki Manaj, all hitting the Billboard Hot 100, she’s been on the fast track to stardom.

Coi’s recent release, “Players” has had even better success. The song was released in November 2022 and pushed Leray to No. 1 on Billboard’s Emerging Artist Chart. The song spent time on the Billboard Hot 100 and has had over 29.1 million radio airplay impressions. It also hit No. 4 on the Hot Rap Songs and No. 10 on Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs.

“Players”, which was produced by Johnny Goldstein, has been streamed 19 million times on Spotify, proving exactly how popular her music is with her audience. She recently swung by Genius Studios to perform the hit on OPEN MIC, showing the New Jersey native has exactly what it takes to stay on the charts.

The song is upbeat and vibrant, with a flashy hip-hop flair that draws your attention from the first beat. Leray starts the hit with a strong drum beat that highlights her powerful vocals. The lyrics tease the idea that girls are playing just as much as boys are. She’s letting her audience know up front that girls like to have just as much fun as guys, without having a serious flair to life.

Coi keeps the background music to a minimum in this song, letting the drum and her vocals carry this song all the way through. The funky, upbeat tune keeps the song fun and entertaining, while the playfulness lets

listeners just smile and have a good time while listening.

Leray has a way with music that lets her bring a different vibe to the scene, keeping it light and fun. This will not be her last hit on the Billboards. Keep an eye out for more coming in 2023.

Where to find Coi Leray

Purchase Music, Merch & Tickets here!
Connect on Social Media to find the most current updates!

Subscribe to rBeatz today and start enjoying all of these amazing benefits!

  • The latest new songs delivered to your inbox for your Weekly Water Cooler Conversation!
  • rBeatz MERCH Special – Alerts!
  • Auto-entry into Giveaways including Concert tickets, & Mystery Gifts!
  • All Musicians, DJs, & Songwriters – Auto-entry into our Quarterly Showcase Showdown, which includes an interview, written artist and music review, social media push, and social media reel!
  • Newsletter first in line – including – Industry tips, best practices, & perceptions of our universe!
  • Behind the scenes with rBeatz Sessions live and interactive!

Share this post with your friends